This morning we had our indoor lighting workshop were we used several different pieces of equipment. We used two Bowens 500R Gemini heads (one as the master, which was connected to the camera, and one as the slave, which detected the flash of the master and fired its own flash almost instantaneously) with soft boxes attached, as well as a smooth grey background. We gained experience in setting-up, taking-down and operating all the necessary equipment. I used a light meter for the first time to measure the strength of the flash and calculate our ideal aperture (f number), which tended to be between f8 and f16 dependent on the strength we had the flash heads set to. I set the ISO on my camera to 100 (for the least amount of noise) and shutter speed to 1/125th of a second, which is the ideal for the best results when using off-camera flash. I connected the sync cable directly to my camera and began to try different positions and angles with the flash heads. I found that the lighting was most pleasing to the eye when I fired a stronger flash from one side and a more subdued flash from the other. You can see a quick sketch of the lay-out below. I managed to experiment with two lenses, a 50mm f1.4 prime and a 100mm f2.8 macro prime. The macro lens was used to achieve the close-up image of Phill Brown’s face giving a lot of detail, the rest of the images were taken using the 50mm.

The results were very pleasing and I am happy with what I managed to achieve during my first session with studio lighting equipment. I now feel confident in experimenting further with such equipment and models in a studio. I would like to play around with aperture a little more in my next studio flash session to see if I can isolate, and therefore give emphasis to, the eyes of the model. Overall I am very happy with what I have learned and the images I have produced, some of which you can see below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

