Today we looked at image deconstruction through semiotics, i.e., the sign, signifier and signified as well as connotations and denotations. We then applied what we had revised to several images, one of which you can see in the post titled Image Deconstruction – Kate Mess. I felt happy with how the lesson went considering that I hadn’t studied any image deconstruction and semiotics since I studied one year of Media Studies in School. I will try to read up on the key points of image deconstruction and think more about the ideas when looking at, and creating images from now on. I’ve learnt that by taking certain ideas into consideration and putting them into practise when creating an image I can encode ideas (inferences), which the observer can experience and understand, thus conveying meaning.

