To create a plan of our workflow and manage our time effectively, we have been advised to learn the ropes of Microsoft Project – an incredibly detailed project planner, which can be used to plan out what, when and where you have to do throughout a project.

I had never used, or even heard of, MS Project before, but at first sight thought it would be similar to MS Excel in the way that it worked. I was wrong. MS Project is a whole different kettle of fish designed for a very specific purpose.

We were provided with a number of tutorials to work through, so that we could effectively get to grips with how the program works and get the best out of it for our purpose. I, however, decided that with what prior knowledge I have of MS programs, I would work backwards and figure out exactly how I wanted to plan out my project and then figure out how to do it as needed. I did this with a bit of googling and a lot of skimming the tutorials, but I no doubt saved a lot of time and came up with a plan that I am happy with. I feel that I got to grips with the program well, avoiding any major headaches (just the one with events re-dating themselves) and even used some of its more advanced features with a bit of trial and error.

Below, you can see my finished plan using MS Project (via gantter).

