When writing an essay it is important to be able to back up everything that you are writing. Today in class we worked through a piece of writing, which was an example of exactly how not to write a piece of academic writing. The text was riddled with spelling and grammatical errors, as well as being badly worded, opinion-based and unreferenced.

By working through the text, we were able to highlight exactly what to do, and what not to do when writing our own reports. What I will take away from this session is how important background reading and accurate referencing is. Any idea, which is not my own should always be referenced, no matter how differently worded it may be.

I feel that I gained a lot from this small task as it opened my eyes to some things I would not have otherwise thought considered.

