Last night was Bonfire Night, so to get material for my podcast, I took a dictaphone and camera to the public firework and bonfire display at Roundhay Park. As well as taking still images at the event, I also captured some video footage with the intention of utilising it as the intro and outro of my podcast. After the public display, myself and a few friends headed home with a couple of packets of sparklers. I created some more images, candid and constructed, which I intend to use in my slideshow. Particularly of note are the sparkler-drawn numbers 1-5, which I will be using to bullet point the top five ways to stay safe.

Over the weekend, I managed to record my part of the interview, which, hopefully, will not need to be changed after I have recorded the actual interview. I did this with the intention of saving myself time when I do have the interview recorded.

I have been in constant contact with the Fire Service via email over the weekend, and finally managed to arrange a meeting for this afternoon with Clare Hesselwood at Leeds fire station.

Update: The interview went very well and Clare answered all of my questions fully. With the benefit of hindsight, I have now learnt that in a recorded interview situation it is important to let the interviewee answer the question on their own and come to a stop before making any audible sound myself. This is because if you (the interviewer) speak in agreement it can be detrimental to the recording. Similarly, I have also learnt that it is best to let the interviewee answer the question fully with their train of thought, rather than ushering them in a certain direction. By doing this, I feel I will gain the best and most honest answer from a journalistic perspective.

Editing the audio has been a long process for such a short podcast. I have managed to cut down seven minutes of interview to less than two minutes. I have even made sure to cut out pauses, “erms” and other unnecessary artefacts to make the podcast as concise and pleasant to listen to as possible. During editing, I found that I was unhappy with the quality of the audio from Roundhay Park for a number of reasons (background music, crowd noise, clipping, etc), so I have downloaded free firework sound effects from the web and have used them in stead. I decided to let these run throughout the entire podcast as I felt it added more aural interest and gave the feeling that the interview could have been recorded at a firework display. To ensure that the audio did not become lost amongst the sound effects, I decided to pan my own voice moreso to the right channel, and Clare’s to the left. Whenever the speech switches between Clare and myself, the fireworks pan to the opposite channel, making good use of the stereo editing techniques we have learnt.

To add depth to the voice, I have used various editing techniques in Adobe Audition, such as De-Hiss, Noise Reduction, Parametric EQ (tweaking high and low), Loudness, Compression and Normalising.

