I’ve just had my second proper tutorial with Chris, and one key area that he feels I should concentrate on after looking through my articles is to make sure I am grabbing the attention of the reader in a daily mail-esque style lead before pursuing with a thorough and balanced article. The sense of urgency is important to catch people’s attention and highlight the importance of the issue.

I’m finding this difficult as I feel that I tend to over-think my writing, and therefore end up losing a lot of the emotion, which would make this impression. I have, however, made some improvements on the climate change article in order to make it more shocking and relatable for the everyday person. I’m feeling much happier about this part of my work now, and will look to ’let go’ and implement this more in future work.

